Forming Panel Work

Paint, body preparation and modification, interior work and electrical
Garvice

Forming Panel Work

Post by Garvice »

Guys/girls/car nuts,

I have been fixing up a 4 door and the first job on the agenda was rust repairs. This is the first car that I have done metal work on (got a few cars on the road with some quick and nasty bog jobs) and was quite surprised at how attainable a half decent job was. A lot of other people have been shown interest in the work, so I thought I would show a few of the things that I have learnt along the way. P.S. My build thread is in my signature if you would like to see more photos of my car.

I’ll add to this thread as I see other panels/tips worth sharing. Please feel free to add to this thread if you have tips to share.

Note, this is my first time doing this kind of work, so you can do it too.
Garvice

Re: Forming Panel Work

Post by Garvice »

Tip #1 JUST GIVE IT A GO!
This is probably the most important thing you need to know about working on cars. You can rear books/internet forums/watch how to videos, but in the end if you don’t just try it, you will never learn how to do it properly. It is only sheet metal and chances are you will stuff up your first couple of goes, but that is the great thing about metal, it is forgiving, you can fix it. If you do take it too far, you just start with a fresh sheet, no harm no foul. Best thing about failure is learning what you did wrong. Most of my first panels I have done several times before I was happy with them (and if I did them again I would still do things differently).
Garvice

Post by Garvice »

Tip #2 GET SOME GOOD INSTRUCTIONAL CLASSES OR SOME VIDEOS