Return for a ka24de swap

Problems, ideas and comments specific to engine swaps.
Redrumls

Return for a ka24de swap

Post by Redrumls »

What return setup should I use for a ka24de swap. I'm new to this swap, I purchased a 72 goon with a fresh swap that I need to finish off. He had 1/4 fuel line, he said I have to change it to 5/16 so that's what I'm doing. He had the gas tank set up with a bigger lines for the return & feed. Is there a good regulator/return filter I can put on it.? It has an inline fuel pump right now. Any info would help..
Thanks, Greg
73 mazda rx3 goon
72 Toyota corona mk2 mx22 2dr ht
72 Datsun 510 goon ka24de
64 nova ss
65 chevelle conv.
68 camaro ss
abisel

Re: Return for a ka24de swap

Post by abisel »

There are a ton of options.
For fuel injection (I assume that is what you have), what is the output pressure of the fuel pump?
Does it meet the requirements of the fuel injectors?
Would the 5/16" line be for both feed and return? Usually the return is smaller.

Take a look at Aeromotive: https://www.aeromotiveinc.com/

I used their 10 micron canister fuel filter and the low pressure regulator for my twin carb setup on my L20B. And I use a VDO pressure gauge on the 1/8" port of the regulator to monitor the 3 psi fuel pressure. My fuel pump is the low pressure Carter. No problems so far.

For your fuel injection system, of course get the regulator for the pressure you need. I don't know if you would need a bypass regulator or not. Others will chime in I'm sure.
Redrumls

Post by Redrumls »