Stock tach cluster wiring?!?!

New posts disabled. Archived technical discussion about the Datsun PL510
KevinWall
Posts: 172
Joined: 08 Mar 2006 19:10

Stock tach cluster wiring?!?!

Postby KevinWall » 15 May 2006 00:37

okay.. soo i have one of the speedo temp fuel and Stock tach Gauge clusters... What year is this set up from ? and does anyone know how it is to be wired up ?! i'd liek to get it in my car.. i love the look of it and the stock tach and all !
i have a 1970 2dr if anyone has info on how this would be wired up ?! let me kno i want to get it in there ASAP :D thanx
kev

User avatar
D510
Posts: 944
Joined: 26 Jun 2003 18:56
Location: Coquitlam, BC, Canada
Contact:

Postby D510 » 15 May 2006 14:12

The factory tach harness will hook up as follows.
Your signal wire comes from the + side of the coil. Disconnect the + at the coil, run a wire from here to one of the while wires on the back of the tach, run the other white wire back to the + on the coil. The factory harness also took power (green I believe) from this same wire coming from the coil. It's a positive source originating from the ignition switch.(I know it sounds crazy, you just did a loop around the firewall, but that’s how Nissan did the tach harness). And of course there's a black wire that just needs to find a ground (see further ahead for instruction here). The tach has an inductive pick up, like a timing light, and there is no direct connection to the tack (no loss of power except for the minor voltage drop over the length of added wire).
The last two wires to hook up will be the lights. Under a blue piece of tape in the main harness in the area of the tack's mounted position (look way up to find the harness in metal clips right below the dash pad), you'll find both a light wire and a ground wire that you can use for this purpose. I have always managed to scavenge a plug from my pile of old wiring harnesses to match the one found in the stock harness (I hate cutting anything to do with a wiring harness). This makes the installation a little more professional looking, and more reliable in the long run. But I have to admit, getting those pins out of the stock plugs is a lot of work.
Good luck, it's all there, write back if you have issues.
As a side note, the two white wires that you hooked up in series to the coil are both identical, but the direction of current has to be the right direction, so if you made all the connections, and the tach doesn’t work, just swap the wires either behind the tach, or at the coil, the inductive pick up gives the right signal in only one direction.
Byron
-1988 Red Jaguar Solvereign, Cold Airintake, Exhaust, Tint, Alpine Sound System.
-1972 Black 2dr Datsun 510, slammed with Built L20B

KevinWall
Posts: 172
Joined: 08 Mar 2006 19:10

Postby KevinWall » 15 May 2006 14:42

hey thanx mark i'll try n get it workin tonight :)

User avatar
Byron510
Moderator
Posts: 10384
Joined: 01 Jul 2003 23:06
Location: New Westminster BC

Postby Byron510 » 15 May 2006 22:38

Thanks for digging that up Mark, I knew that I'd wrote an answer to this question before....
Byron

KevinWall
Posts: 172
Joined: 08 Mar 2006 19:10

Postby KevinWall » 15 May 2006 23:41

And Thank you Byron for all of your knowledge :)

KevinWall
Posts: 172
Joined: 08 Mar 2006 19:10

Postby KevinWall » 16 May 2006 23:19

Hey... well went out and ran some wires hooked it all up pluged it in .. fired up the engine and bam working stock tach :D it rocks ! thanx mark for finding those instructions and thanx byron for writing them ! made it so easy :)

User avatar
D510
Posts: 944
Joined: 26 Jun 2003 18:56
Location: Coquitlam, BC, Canada
Contact:

Postby D510 » 17 May 2006 22:42

no problem, when i read them the first time i knew it would be useful to have so i just saved it :o
-1988 Red Jaguar Solvereign, Cold Airintake, Exhaust, Tint, Alpine Sound System.

-1972 Black 2dr Datsun 510, slammed with Built L20B

User avatar
Da5Dime
Posts: 119
Joined: 19 Jul 2005 11:26
Location: Camarillo, CA
Contact:

Postby Da5Dime » 08 Jun 2006 20:00

Man that sucks, because I tryed that and it jumped when I started it then it didn't do anything. Maybe I have a faulty tach!! :?

User avatar
onslot
Posts: 159
Joined: 25 Oct 2005 15:41
Location: Chilliwack BC
Contact:

Postby onslot » 08 Jun 2006 20:24

i used the same instruction to install my tach a week or so ago and they were da bomb my tach works great and looks even better
Cheers

User avatar
Da5Dime
Posts: 119
Joined: 19 Jul 2005 11:26
Location: Camarillo, CA
Contact:

Postby Da5Dime » 09 Jun 2006 00:30

I think I must have a messed up tach then, because mine doesn't even have 2 white wires!


Return to “Technical - Archive”



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests