Column shift auto to manual?

General Discussion about the Datsun PL510
Bruce Hiebert

Column shift auto to manual?

Post by Bruce Hiebert »

Hey all, I've never been a member of a site like this before, not have I ever posted anything, so not sure if I'm doing this right! But, here's my issue/question: I have a column-shift automatic 510 that I will in future be converting to floor shift manual. My question is about the steering column... I have the plastic surround pieces for the column, obviously those are needed as the auto surround contains the whole PRNDL indicator and will no longer work... but I'm wondering what to do about the actual column shifter itself, that whole mechanism -- can it just be removed, unbolted -- is it that simple? (I don't have access to the car at the moment to just go check this myself, it's in storage in another location away from my home.) As far as I can tell, this question hasn't been covered anywhere else on the site, but again I'm a newbie so apologies if I'm missing the info on here somehow. Thanks in advance for any help given...

Bruce
Byron510

Re: Column shift auto to manual?

Post by Byron510 »

Hi Bruce, welcome to the site.

In fact it is as easy as you think, the automatic shift linkage can be simply unbolted from the existing column. There is no need to change the column itself.

As noted, you will need to find the ignition cover for a manual transmission car, and there's also a small blank off plastic plate that covers the hole that goes through the dash cover where the automatic shift linkage used to go - between the speedometer and clock/tachometer pod if you have a 70 to 73 dashboard.